Shopping Cart

Classical Centerstage Store

Russian National Orchestra: Tchaikovsky: The Symphonies

For the first time ever, Mikhail Pletnev's extensive examination of Peter Tchaikovsky's symphonic oeuvre have been collected into a single box set. The seven CDs contain not only Pletnev's celebrated cycle of all Tchaikovsky symphonies from 1996, but also the Manfred Symphony and the much-loved tone poems of the Russian Romantic, including Romeo and Juliet, the Slavonic March, and the Overture Solennelle "1812". “All the innate aristocratic feeling Tchaikovsky could ask for "The Penguin Guide"


CD 1

Symphony No.1 In G Minor, Op.13 "Winter Reveries"

1. Allegro tranquillo

2. Adagio cantabile ma non tanto

3. Scherzo (Allegro scherzando giocoso)

4. Finale (Andante lugubre - Allegro maestoso)

Slavonic March, Op.31

Festival Overture On The Danish National Anthem, Op.15

CD 2

Symphony No.2 In C Minor, Op.17 "Little Russian"

1. Andante sostenuto - Allegro vivo

2. Andantino marziale, quasi moderato

3. Scherzo. Allegro molto vivace - Trio. L'istesso tempo

4. Finale. Moderato assai - Allegro vivo - Presto

Fatum, Op.77

Ouverture solennelle "1812," Op.49

CD 3

Symphony No.3 In D, Op.29 "Polish"

1. Introduzione e Allegro

2. Alla tedesca (Allegro moderato)

3. Andante elegiaco

4. Scherzo (Allegro vivo)

5. Finale (Allegro con fuoco)

Romeo And Juliet, Fantasy Overture

CD 4

Symphony No.4 In F Minor, Op.36

1. Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima - Moderato assai, quasi Andante - Allegro vivo

2. Andantino in modo di canzone

3. Scherzo. Pizzicato ostinato - Allegro

4. Finale (Allegro con fuoco)

Francesca da Rimini, Op.32

CD 5

Symphony No.5 In E Minor, Op.64

1. Andante - Allegro con anima

2. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza - Moderato con anima

3. Valse (Allegro moderato)

4. Finale (Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace)

Hamlet - Overture-Fantasy After Shakespeare, Op.67

CD 6

The Voyevode, Op.78

Capriccio italien, Op.45

Symphony No.6 In B Minor, Op.74 -"Pathétique"

3. Adagio - Allegro non troppo

4. Allegro con grazia

5. Allegro molto vivace

6. Finale (Adagio lamentoso - Andante)

CD 7

The Tempest, Op.18

Manfred Symphony, Op.58

2. Lento lugubre - Moderato con moto - Andante

3. Vivace con spirito

4. Andante con moto

5. Allegro con fuoco

Boxset Dimensions: 5.1"x5.1"x0.8"