Randall Goosby: Roots CD


Ships on: July 24, 2024

Randall Goosby presents Roots, a celebration of classical music by Black composers and inspired by Black American culture. This debut album is a homage to the pioneering musicians that paved the way for Goosby’s generation of young artists. It features world premiere recordings of pieces by Florence Price, as well as looking to the future, opening with a new work by Xavier Foley.


  1. Foley: Shelter Island
  2. Perkinson: I. Plain Blue/s [Blue/s Forms]
  3. Perkinson: II. Just Blue/s [Blue/s Forms]
  4. Perkinson: III. Just Blue/s [Blue/s Forms]
  5. Perkinson: IIII. Just Blue/s [Blue/s Forms]
  6. Gershwin: Summertime (Arr. Heifetz) [Porgy and Bess]
  7. Gershwin: A Woman Is a Sometime Thing (Arr. Heifetz) [Porgy and Bess]
  8. Gershwin: It Ain't Necessarily So (Arr. Heifetz) [Porgy and Bess]
  9. Gershwin: Bess, You Is My Woman Now (Arr. Heifetz) [Porgy and Bess]
  10. Still: I. African Dancer [Suite for Violin and Piano]
  11. Still: II. Mother and Child [Suite for Violin and Piano]
  12. Still: III. Garmin [Suite for Violin and Piano]
  13. Price: Adoration
  14. Price: Fantasie No. 1 in G Minor
  15. Price: Fantasie No. 2 in F-Sharp Minor
  16. Coleridge-Taylor: 10. Deep River (Arr. Maud Powell) [24 Negro Melodies, Op. 59]
  17. Dvořák: I. Allegro risoluto [Violin Sonatina in G Major, Op. 100, B. 120]
  18. Dvořák: II. Larghetto [Violin Sonatina in G Major, Op. 100, B. 120]
  19. Dvořák: III. Scherzo. Molto vivace [Violin Sonatina in G Major, Op. 100, B. 120]
  20. Dvořák: IV. Finale. Allegro [Violin Sonatina in G Major, Op. 100, B. 120]