Shopping Cart

Classical Centerstage Store

Paul Motian - Paul Motian

This six-CD set, with recordings from 1972 to 1984, includes the albums Conception Vessel, Tribute, Dance, Le Voyage, Psalm and It Should've Happened A Long Time Ago. Paul Motian's innovative drumming with the great trios of Bill Evans and Paul Bley had already assured him of a place in jazz's history books, but Motian had not considered life as a bandleader until ECM proposed a recording session under his own name. Conception Vessel opened floodgates of creativity. Through these recordings we hear not only the evolution of several outstanding Motian ensembles and the birth of the enduring Motian/Frisell/Lovano trio, but also the growth of confidence of a unique jazz composer. In Paul's music, memories of Turkish and Armenian melodies he had heard as a child were filtered through a love of jazz. Early in his career, Paul had played with Thelonious Monk, and Monk's wayward sense of dynamics remained a reference for him, but he also loved the free expressive possibilities of the new jazz. Keith Jarrett and Charlie Haden, regular partners in Keiths trio and quartet, encouraged Paul's creative flight on, respectively, Conception Vessel and Tribute. With Dance and Le Voyage, the trios with Charles Brackeen recorded 1977 and 1979, Motian shaped a sound world entirely his own, and a blueprint for the future. This box set includes extensive liner notes by pianist Ethan Iverson and rare historical photos of the musicians.


CD 1 – Conception Vessel

1. Georgian Bay

2. Ch'i Energie

3. Rebica

4. Conception Vessel

5. American Indian: Song Of Sitting Bull

6. Inspiration From A Vietnamese Lullaby

CD 2 – Tribute

1. Victoria

2. Tuesday Ends Saturday

3. War Orphans

4. Sod House

5. Song For Ché

CD 3 – Dance

1. Waltz Song

2. Dance

3. Kalypso

4. Asia

5. Prelude

6. Lullaby

CD 4 – Le Voyage

1. Folk Song For Rosie

2. Abacus

3. Cabala / Drum Music

4. The Sunflower

5. Le Voyage

CD 5 – Psalm

1. Psalm

2. White Magic

3. Boomerang

4. Fantasm

5. Mandeville

6. Second Hand

7. Etude

8. Yahllah

CD 6 – It Should've Happened A Long Time Ago

1. It Should've Happened A Long Time Ago

2. Fiasco

3. Conception Vessel

4. Introduction

5. India

6. In The Year Of The Dragon

7. Two Women From Padua

Boxset Dimensions: 5.32"x0.88"x5.14"