Shopping Cart

Classical Centerstage Store

Gabríel Ólafs: Solon Islandus - LP

Gabríel Ólafs

Solon Islandus is the Decca Records US debut of 23-year-old Icelandic composer Gabríel Ólafs. It is an ambitious concept album that pays homage to the artistic spirit of the people of Iceland. A work of personal discovery, and an exploration of the artistry, culture and place that has shaped Gabríel’s identity.

The record draws inspiration from the writing of one of Iceland’s great poets, Davíð Stefánsson, in expressive and emotional works for piano, ensemble and choir with spoken word elements.

Gabríel Ólafs’ music has been streamed tens of millions of times online; it is, writes PopMatters, “brimming with beauty.”


Side A

  1. Streymir
  2. Júlíana
  3. Memory
  4. Solon Islandus
  5. Brestur
  6. The Lily
  7. Kyndir

Side B

  1. Hind
  2. The Drifter
  3. The Restless Bird
  4. Lullaby
  5. Aska
  6. The Farewell
  7. The Caw