Shopping Cart

Classical Centerstage Store

András Schiff: Encores After Beethoven CD

András Schiff

Between March 2004 and May 2006 András Schiff performed the complete cycle of Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas at the Tonhalle, Zürich, recorded and released by ECM New Series. This collection presents the encores from these concerts. What does one play after Beethoven sonatas? András Schiff: “For me it’s essential not to seek entertainment but rather to look for pieces that are closely related to the previously heard sonatas.” The pianist explores links to Schubert, Mozart, Haydn and Bach. For all the interconnecting strands of musical history, András Schiff’s selection of encores also adds up to a thoroughly enjoyable ‘recital’ disc in its own right.

Three Piano Pieces D 946 (Franz Schubert)
1. No. 1 e-flat minor. Allegro assai
2. Allegretto c minor D 915
3. Eine kleine Gigue in G Major KV 574 (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)
Sonata g minor Hob XVI :44 (Joseph Haydn)
4. Moderato
5. Allegretto
6. Hungarian Melody in b minor D 817 (Franz Schubert)
7. Andante favori F major WoO 57. Andante grazioso con moto (Ludwig van Beethoven)
Partita No. 1 B-flat Major BWV 825 (Johann Sebastian Bach)
8. Menuet I & II
9. Gigue
Prelude and Fugue b-flat minor BWV 867 (Johann Sebastian Bach)
10. Prelude
11. Fugue